The Organization of American States (OAS) is an international public organization. It was founded in 1948, with the adoption in Colombia of the OAS Charter, the American Treaty on Pacific Settlement (Pact of Bogotá) and the American Declaration of the Rights and Duties of Man.

The OAS has four pillars:

  1. Democracy
  2. Human rights
  3. Security
  4. Development

These pillars support each other and are intertwined through political dialogue, inclusiveness, cooperation and legal and follow-up instruments. Almost 70 years after its founding, and after 11 Secretaries General and 45 sessions, the OAS has made important contributions in the Americas.

The Dominican Republic is hosting the 46th Regular Session of the OAS General Assembly and has proposed "Institutional Strengthening for Sustainable Development in the Americas" as the theme of the meeting.

Foreign Secretary Ruiz Massieu and other foreign ministers took part in the opening ceremony, during which both OAS Secretary General Luis Almagro and the president of the Dominican Republic, Danilo Medina, spoke.

On the second day of her visit, the Foreign Secretary held a breakfast meeting to review the Mexico-U.S.-Canada agenda. U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry attended the breakfast.


Later, the Mexican delegation attended the Plenary Session. The Foreign Secretary is accompanied by Socorro Flores, Undersecretary for Latin America and the Caribbean, and Miguel Ruiz Cabañas, Undersecretary for Multilateral Affairs and Human Rights.