Sustainable Development is the general paradigm of the UN. The concept was described in the 1987 Brundtland Commission Report as "development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs.”

The UN General Assembly adopted the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, a plan of action for people, planet and prosperity. It also seeks to strengthen universal peace and access to justice, and proposes 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDG) with 169 economic, social and environmental targets to be achieved over the next 15 years.

What are the SDG?

·      No poverty

·      Zero hunger

·      Good health & well-being

·      Quality education

·      Gender equality

·      Clean water and sanitation

·      Affordable and clean energy

·      Decent work and economic growth

·      Industry, innovation and infrastructure

·      Reducing inequalities

·      Sustainable cities and communities

·      Responsible consumption and production

·      Climate action

·      Life below water

·      Life on land

·      Peace, justice and strong institutions

·      Partnerships for the goals


Mexico's role in the SDG

As a global actor, Mexico has participated in defining the new Development Agenda. Some of Mexico’s milestones during this process were:

·      The organization of a regional consultation that led to the Guadalajara Declaration.

·      Three international workshops on social and economic development, inclusion and the importance of measuring the progress of the new development agenda.

·      Sponsorship of the consultation on energy, together with the governments of Tanzania and Norway.

·      Escalating the commitments on gender equality and women's rights during regional consultations and forums.

For more information see: