The IV Summit of Heads of State and Government of the Community of Latin American and Caribbean States (CELAC) will be held today in Quito, Ecuador.

President Enrique Peña Nieto’s participation in the Fourth Summit confirms Mexico’s commitment to this important mechanism for dialogue and political agreement, while enabling him to find points of convergence on priority issues and promote cooperation to benefit the societies of CELAC member countries.


CELAC was created on 23 February 2010 on the initiative of Mexico, at the Unity Summit in the Riviera Maya. It began operating on December 3, 2011, during the Caracas Summit within the framework of the III Summit of Latin America and the Caribbean (SLAC) on Integration and Development.

It is the result of a merger between the Río Group and the Latin American and Caribbean Summit on Integration and Development.

It brings together all the countries in Latin America and the Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Granada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Dominican Republic, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela.


Expand regional integration (political, economic, social and cultural), while respecting democracy and human rights.

Promote political cooperation.

Promote the Latin American and Caribbean agenda.

Position the region on global issues.

Encourage dialogue with other actors.

Promote coordination among subregional processes.

Develop new cooperation schemes.