The Eighth North American Leaders’ Summit  (NALS) will be held on Wednesday, June 29, and will involve the participation of Enrique Peña Nieto of Mexico and Barak Obama of the United States and the host, Justin Trudeau of Canada.

President Enrique Peña Nieto will strengthen Mexico's global role. The strategic alliances with other nations, promoted by President Enrique Peña Nieto, have strengthened Mexico's position as a reliable country in the midst of institutional transformation.

NALS is the only regular trilateral forum at the highest level. Through this mechanism, Mexico, the United States and Canada share the vision of a future based on a strong commitment to continuing to work to promote greater prosperity in the North American region.

NALS 2016 will be the eighth meeting under the current format, begun in 2005. The first record of a meeting between leaders of North America was in 1956 with the leaders Ruiz Cortines (Mexico), Eisenhower (United States) and St. Laurent (Canada).

The axes of the 2014 NALS  agenda were:

  1. Shared, inclusive prosperity;
  2. New areas of opportunity (education, innovation and energy);
  3. Public safety and
  4. Regional and global issues.

This year, new guidelines will be established in four main pillars that define our cooperation:

  1. Climate change, clean energy and environment;
  2. Trade and border competitiveness;
  3. Security and defense and
  4. Cooperation in regional and global affairs.

The leaders will seek to consolidate North America’s leadership as the world’s most prosperous and competitive region.