At the National Palace, President Enrique Peña Nieto today received the credentials of 20 new ambassadors, which marked the start of their official activities as representatives of their nations in Mexico.

As he welcomed them to Mexico, he confirmed Mexico's interest in strengthening cooperation with their nations.

The new diplomatic representatives in Mexico are: Annika Thunborg, of Sweden; Margriet Leemhuis, of the Netherlands; Ion Vilcu, of Romania; Valentin Modev, of Bulgaria; Franco Coppola, of the Holy See, Ivan Medveczky, of Hungary; and Saleh Al Mutoteh Muteb of Kuwait.

The Mexican president also received the credentials of Pius Joseph Camilleri of Malta; Eerik Marmei of Estonia; Joseph Henry Smith, of Ghana; Robinson Njeru Githae, of Kenya; Chum Bun Rong, Cambodia, Mai Sayavongs of the Democratic People's Republic of Laos; Floreta Faber, of Albania; Rolandas Krisciunas, of Lithuania; Faycal Gouia, of Tunisia; Julius Timothy, of Dominica; Anthony Wayne Jerome Phillips-Spencer, of Trinidad and Tobago; Serbini Ali, of Brunei Darussalam; and Aleksandr Aleksandrov of Belarus, who are concurrent ambassadors.