## Qualifying jury selects winners of National Plant Health Award 2019

Héctor Manuel Sánchez Anguiano and Postgraduate Course in Phytosanity of Graduate College (Colpos) are recognized for Health Merit and Scientific Work, respectively.



The qualifying jury, made up of phytosanitary specialists, chose Héctor Manuel Sánchez Anguiano as the winner of National Plant Health Award 2019 for Sanitary Merit and Postgraduate Degree in Phytosanity with its two orientations: Entomology and Acarology, and Phytopathology, of the Graduate College (Colpos), for Scientific Work.

Secretariat of Agriculture and Rural Development gives the awards in accordance with the rules of award notice, published by National Service of Food Safety and Agricultural Quality (Senasica) in Official Gazette of the Federation on August 16 of this year.

The recognition is given every year to professionals who have contributed to the prevention, control and eradication of plant pests in Mexico, with a minimum experience of 25 years in phytosanitary work. This National Plant Health Award 2019 will be delivered on November 29, 2019.

Héctor Manuel Sánchez Anguiano is an agronomist with a specialty in Phytotechnics from Chapingo Autonomous University and a master's degree in Citriculture from the Valencian Institute for Agricultural Research in Valencia, Spain, and currently serves as a representative in Mexico of International Regional Agency for Agricultural Health (Oirsa).

The Postgraduate Degree in Phytosanity has the largest number of specialists nationwide and the largest number of students preparing in this area. Their teachers are continuously interacting with Secretariat of Agriculture, federal, state entities and producer associations that are related to problems of insect pests and plant diseases. The jury was comprised by Senasica, with general directors of Plant Health, Francisco Ramírez y Ramírez, Phytosanitary Protection, Pedro Carranza Vázquez, and National Phytosanitary Reference Center, Guillermo Santiago Martínez.

Also, by directors of Phytosanitary Regulation, José Abel López Buenfil, of General Directorate of Plant Health, Moisés Avendaño Benequén, and of National Program of Fruit Flies, Martiza Juárez Durán.

The chairman to the National Phytosanitary Consultative Board, Antonio Segura Miranda, of Graduate College, Javier Hernández Morales, and of Mexican Academy of Applied Entomology, Néstor Bautista Martínez, joined to external bodies of the jury;

as well as, president of Entomological Academy of Mexico, Juana Coronado Blanco; president of Agricultural Engineers Parasitologists, Abel Toledo Martínez; of Department of Agricultural Parasitology of the Autonomous University of Chapingo, Raciel Hernández, and of the Department of Parasitology of Antonio Narro Autonomous Agrarian University, Mariano Dávila Flores.