The winner of the 2019 National Animal Health Award is revealed.

The selection jury chose Yolanda Maricela Barrera Tenorio, veterinarian-zootechnician, to receive the award granted by the Secretariat of Agriculture and Rural Development (SADER).



The selection jury for the 2019 National Animal Health Award granted by the Secretariat of Agriculture and Rural Development (SADER) every year named Yolanda Maricela Barrera Tenorio, veterinarian-zootechnician as the winner.

To issue their votes, the members of the jury considered the outstanding work of the award winner in bovine tuberculosis epidemiology subjects and her collaboration in the actions of the Emergency Operation against Venezuelan equine encephalitis.

The National Service of Food Safety and Agriculture Quality (SENASICA) reported that the award winner is alumni of the FMVZ (Veterinarian and Zootechnical Medicine School) of the UNAM (National Autonomous University of Mexico).

She got a master's degree in Sustainable Animal Production from the UNACH (Autonomous University of Chiapas) and her trajectory has been acknowledged by many organizations, such as the Soconusco and Coast of Chiapas Veterinarians-Zootechnicians and the Female Veterinarians-Zootechnicians associations, among others.

The award will be handed during the 27th Annual Meeting of the National Animal Health Technical Council (CONASA) in Durango, Durango, on October 9 of this year, in accordance with item 15 of the Call published in the Federal Official Gazette.

Juan Gay Gutiérrez, General Director of Animal Health of SENASICA and acting on behalf of the SADER chaired the selection jury appointed to select the 2019 Animal Health National Award, and Fernando Rivera Espinoza, as representative of the General Head Office of Animal Health of SENASICA, acted as secretary of the jury, whose members were as follows:

Jorge Luis Leyva Vázquez from the General Head Office of Phytozoosanitary Inspection; Amada Vélez Méndez from the General Head Office of Agri-food, Aquaculture and Fisheries Safety; José Fernando de la Torre Sánchez for the INIFAP (National Institute of Forestry, Agricultural and Livestock Research); Francisco Suárez Güemes from the FMVZ of the UNAM;

Igor Francisco Romero Sosa, on behalf of PRONABIVE (National Producer of Veterinarians Biologicals); Edmundo Villareal González on behalf of the Federación de Colegios y Asociaciones de Médicos Veterinarios Zootecnistas de México A.C. (Federation of Colleges and Associations of Veterinarians-Zootechnicians-FEDMVZ); Luisa Pamela Ibarra for the CONASA and José Abel Ciprián Carrasco of the Academia Veterinaria Mexicana A.C. (Mexican Veterinarians Association).

Joining the selection jury from the productive chain: Arturo Calderón Ruanova on behalf of the Poultry Farmers National Union (UNA); Alejandro Ramírez González on behalf of the Mexican Pork Breeders Confederation (CPM), and Bárbara Zaldivar Hernández from the Asociación Nacional de Establecimientos TIF, A.C.(National Association of Federal Inspection Type Establishments).

Rogelio Pérez Sánchez on behalf of the AMEG (Mexican Bovine Cattle Fattening Association); Antonio Reyes Hernández for the INFARVET (Veterinarian Pharmaceutical Industry); Celín Rivera Martínez of OPORPA (National Pork Breeders Organization) and Thalía Torres Barajas of the CNOG (National Confederation of Livestock Organizations).