The Secretary of Economy, Ildefonso Guajardo Villarreal, began a working visit to Queenstown and Auckland, New Zealand, where he will participate in various events related to the signing of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP, for its acronym in English), with his counterparts from Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Chile, United States, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam.

The Secretary Guajardo will meet with businessmen and government representatives from the region of Queenstown and Auckland, New Zealand, with whom he will analyze opportunities to move towards a greater commercial integration between Mexico and this country, as a result of the signing of the TPP.

As part of the activities associated with the signing of the TPP, the Head of the Secretariat of Economy (SE, in Spanish) will hold bilateral meetings with his counterparts from Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, United States, Malaysia, New Zealand, Peru and Vietnam; in order to continue advancing in mechanisms to enhance the flows of trade and investment.

With the signing of TPP the process of trade negotiations began on 2 December 2012 is completed. Now the Federal Executive will present the TPP before the Senate of the Republic for its consideration, evaluation and, if appropriate, its ratification.

The 12 member countries of the TPP represent 36% of the worldwide Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and 25% of the international trade.